Here on Earth

Explore Mars Inc. &

Space Policy Institute at

The George Washington University present:

The Humans to Mars Summit

May 5-7, 2015

at The George Washington University in Washington, DC.


Explore Mars, Inc. is pleased to announce that pre-registration has begun for the 2015 Humans to Mars Summit (H2M).  H2M is a comprehensive Mars exploration conference that addresses the major technical, scientific, and policy challenges of getting humans to Mars, as well as how such missions can have positive impacts on STEM education, American Competitiveness and other important collateral issues.

“H2M has become the preeminent annual event focused on human missions to Mars,” stated Explore Mars Executive Director, Chris Carberry.  “We expect H2M 2015 to be by far our most successful and impactful event yet.”

In 2014, H2M had an onsite attendance of almost 650 people and also boasted over 100,000 viewers online.  In 2015, Explore Mars intends to dramatically increase both of these numbers, making a clear statement in support of humans to Mars to leaders in the United States and around the world.

Humans to Mars Summit April 24,2014

Register Here

H2M 2015 will also feature a new and exciting format, with each day having a specific theme:

May 5, 2015


8:45-9:00 | Welcome/Acknowledgements/etc.

  • Artemis Westenberg (Explore Mars) and Chris Carberry (Explore Mars)

9:00-9:30 | Mars Exploration – Year in Review

  • Scott Hubbard (Stanford University; former Director of NASA Mars Exploration Program)

9:30-10:00 | Opening Plenary

  • Charles Bolden (NASA| Administrator)

10:00-11:00 | Leadership Panel

  • Miles O’Brien (PBS| PBS News Hour; Frontline; NOVA) – Moderator
  • William Gerstenmaier (NASA: Assoc. Administrator, HEOMD)
  • John Grunsfeld (NASA: Assoc. Administrator, SMD)
  • Michael Gazarik (NASA: Assoc. Administrator, STMD)
  • Roberto Battiston (Italian Space Agency, President)


11:00-11:20 | Break


Short Talk sessions

11:20-12:05 | The Extraordinary Science of Mars

12:10-12:30 | The Martian

  • Andrew Weir (Author of The Martian) – via Skype


12:30-2:00 | Lunch


2:00-2:20 | The ‘AWE’ of Mars – Inspiring the Future

  • Janet Ivey (Janet’s Planet)

2:25-2:45 | How will we go to Mars?

2:50-3:10 | Why Mars?

3:15-3:35 | ExoLance: Search for Life Below the Martian Surface

  • Joe Cassady (Aerojet Rocketdyne| Executive Director, Space, Washington, D.C.. Office)


3:35-3:50 | Break


3:50-4:10 | Time Capsule to Mars

  • Emily Briere (Time Capsule to Mars; Student)

4:15-4:35 | The Long History of Humans to Mars

  • Rod Pyle (Author, ‘Innovation the NASA Way’ and ‘Curiosity’

4:40-5:00 | Do We Have the Political Will to Send Humans to Mars?

5:05-5:25 | Closing speaker

5:30-7:00 | Onsite Reception


7:00-9:00: A Conversation with Buzz Aldrin (Apollo XI, Gemini XII)  Moderated by Andrew Aldrin (Moon Express, Inc, President)


May 6, 2015


8:45-9:45 | Panel: Affordability and Sustainability: Mars Architectural Review

  • Rebecca Keiser (American University; NASA)

9:45-10:00 | Break

10:00-11:00 | Panel: Mars Science: The 2020s and Enabled by Astronauts in the 2030s

  • Moderator: Jim Watzin (NASA| Director, Mars Exploration Program)

11:00-12:00 | Talk: Critical Mars Technologies

  • James Reuther (NASA| Deputy Associate Administrator for Programs, Space Technology Mission Directorate)


12:00-2:00 | Speaker Lunch – TBA (Separate Admission to be announced in March 2015)


Afternoon | Parallel Technical Panels


Session One

2:00-3:30 | In-Space Propulsion

  • Moderator: Les Johnson (NASA: MSFC)
  • Mark Carter (Ad Astra Rocket Company)
  • Michael Hauts (NASA MSFC)


3:30-5:00 | Today’s Stepping Stone: ISS

  • Moderator – Rebecca Keiser (NASA; American University)


Session Two

2:00-3:30 | Entry, Descent, and Landing for the 2020s and Beyond


3:30-5:00 | In-Space Habitation for the 2020s

  • Moderator – Sam Scimemi (NASA| Director, International Space Station)


2:00-5:00: Teaching Mars Workshop


May 7, 2015


9:00-10:00 | Panel – From Sci-Fi to Reality

  • Geoffrey Landis (NASA; Science Fiction author)
  • Charles Gannon (Science Fiction author)
  • Bud Sparhawk (Science Fiction author)

10:00-11:00 | Panel – Inspiring Support – Public Engagement

  • Moderator: Janet Ivey (Janet’s Planet)
  • Susan Poulton (President, Door 44 Digital; former VP, National Geographc)
  • Richard J. Phillips (President, Phillips and Company)

11:00-11:20 | Break

11:20-12:20 | Political Roundtable – Building Political Sustainability

  • Ann Zulkosky (Moderator)

12:20-1:00 | Closing Speaker


Confirmed and Tentative Speakers include :

  • Charles Bolden (NASA)
  • Buzz Aldrin (Gemini XII; Apollo XI)
  • Janet Ivey (Janet’s Planet, PBS)
  • Tiffany Montague (Former Manager, Google Space Initiatives)
  • Alan Stern (Uwingu)
  • Joe Cassady (Aerojet Rocketdyne)
  • Emily Briere (Time Capsule to Mars)
  • Rich Phillips (Phillips and Company)
  • Jim Garvin (NASA)
  • John Grunsfeld (NASA)
  • Scott Hubbard (Stanford University)
  • Rebecca Keiser (NASA; American University)
  • William Gerstenmaier (NASA)
  • Miles O’Brien (PBS)
  • Ellen Stofan (NASA)
  • Michael Gazarik (NASA)
  • Andrew Weir (Author of The Martian)
  • Jim Watzin (NASA HQ)
  • Bud Sparhawk (Science Fiction author)
  • Charles Gannon (Science Fiction author)
  • Geoffrey Landis (NASA; Science Fiction author)
  • Les Johnson (NASA: MSFC)
  • Susan Poulton (President, Door 44 Digital; former VP, National Geographic)
  • James Reuther (NASA)


According to Explore Mars President,  Artemis Westenberg,”We have come a long way in a relatively short time through our Humans to Mars Summits. We have helped to change the attitude of policymakers and space industry leaders from ‘Mars-is-too-hard’ to ‘Mars-is-doable’,and from ‘Mars-is-too-expensive’ to ‘Mars-is-affordable’. What remains now is to spread the word that Mars is a necessary destination for us humans . We expect that the Humans to Mars Summit of 2015 will help to bring this to fruition “

To take advantage of the special “pre-registration” rate of $125, please register here before the fee increases on September 30, 2014.

Register Here